Aller au contenu

What governs ROM access?

Naminama

Messages recommandés

I'm relatively new to the arcade/emulation scene and I'm trying to understand the following:

I've noticed that some roms, while they exist, are only shared amongst a select few people. Is there a reason these roms are kept under lock and key and aren't 'readily' available to anyone?

It seems strange to me that a small group, within a close community, can get access to a rom and they then keep that to themselves. Is there some reason for this I'm not aware of? Like something to do with the process of creating an emulator to run it, that necessitates that it not be open access? 

It seems all the more odd to me to think that these small groups would assume that they have 'ownership' over a rom when more often than not they are obtained without the consent of the publisher. 

Really curious to know the answer.

49 minutes ago, Naminama said:

I'm relatively new to the arcade/emulation scene and I'm trying to understand the following:

I've noticed that some roms, while they exist, are only shared amongst a select few people. Is there a reason these roms are kept under lock and key and aren't 'readily' available to anyone?

It seems strange to me that a small group, within a close community, can get access to a rom and they then keep that to themselves. Is there some reason for this I'm not aware of? Like something to do with the process of creating an emulator to run it, that necessitates that it not be open access? 

It seems all the more odd to me to think that these small groups would assume that they have 'ownership' over a rom when more often than not they are obtained without the consent of the publisher. 

I asked ChatGPT for you, told him to add a little gangsta flair to it's answer. This way we can keep anything personal out of it.

Yo, there could be a few reasons why someone hoards arcade ROMs and doesn't release them to the public: